> -----Original Message-----
> From: firstname.lastname@example.org
> [mailto:email@example.com] On Behalf Of Russell Hill
> Sent: December 19, 2007 23:07
> To: Yuri VE3DZ; firstname.lastname@example.org
> Subject: Re: [CQ-Contest] cheating with packet
> Question: If a single operator has a friend in the shack
> trolling the bands looking for mults, and when the friend
> passes him a call and freq he shifts to that freq and works
> the station found by his friend, does that "single operator"
> retain his status as SO?
For my money....
It depends upon the contest. In most it wouldn't change the operator status
but in ARRL 10 and 160 it would make him multi-op. He would have to be
"Assisted" in the others. Unless the other guy did any operating at all.
> If having a second operator in the shack takes one out of the
> SO Category, why does having the 2nd, and 3rd, and 4th etc
> operator at the other end of an internet connection change
> anything? What is the difference? If one is assistance, is
> not the other?
See above. Cluster use, or another operator feeding spots to you, in ARRL10
and 160 puts you in the "Multi-op" category as per the rules. Personally, I
would like to see a consistency in categorizing cluster use. Pick "Assisted"
or "Multi-op" for every contest and that might eliminate a part of the
confusion about what it means to use the cluster or have secondary operators
73 -- Paul VO1HE
CQ-Contest mailing list