[Top] [All Lists]

Re: [CQ-Contest] cheating with packet

To: <vo1he@rac.ca>, <cq-contest@contesting.com>
Subject: Re: [CQ-Contest] cheating with packet
From: <ve4xt@mts.net>
Date: Thu, 20 Dec 2007 10:00:23 -0600
List-post: <mailto:cq-contest@contesting.com>
Going to the source, at least of ARRL rules, reveals that most people here 
are getting it entirely wrong. Namely:

2.1.Single Operator: One person performs all transmitting, receiving, and 
logging functions as well as equipment and antenna adjustments. 

2.1.1.Use of spotting assistance or nets (operating arrangements 
involving other individuals, DX-alerting nets, packet, Internet, etc) is not 

So, 2.1 clearly says one person performs all transmitting, receiving and 
logging functions. 2.1.1 further prohibits a single operator from spotting 
assistance, and not just the Cluster kind.

73, kelly

> From: "Paul J. Piercey" <p.piercey@nl.rogers.com>
> Date: 2007/12/20 Thu AM 06:39:35 CST
> To: <cq-contest@contesting.com>
> Subject: Re: [CQ-Contest] cheating with packet
> > -----Original Message-----
> > From: cq-contest-bounces@contesting.com 
> > [mailto:cq-contest-bounces@contesting.com] On Behalf Of Russell 
> > Sent: December 19, 2007 23:07
> > To: Yuri VE3DZ; cq-contest@contesting.com
> > Subject: Re: [CQ-Contest] cheating with packet
> > 
> > Question:  If a single operator has a friend in the shack 
> > trolling the bands looking for mults, and when the friend 
> > passes him a call and freq he shifts to that freq and works 
> > the station found by his friend, does that "single operator" 
> > retain his status as SO?
> > 
> For my money....
> It depends upon the contest. In most it wouldn't change the operator 
> but in ARRL 10 and 160 it would make him multi-op. He would have to 
> "Assisted" in the others. Unless the other guy did any operating at all.
> > If having a second operator in the shack takes one out of the 
> > SO Category, why does having the 2nd, and 3rd, and 4th etc 
> > operator at the other end of an internet connection change 
> > anything?  What is the difference?  If one is assistance, is 
> > not the other?
> > 
> See above. Cluster use, or another operator feeding spots to you, in 
> and 160 puts you in the "Multi-op" category as per the rules. Personally, I
> would like to see a consistency in categorizing cluster use. Pick 
> or "Multi-op" for every contest and that might eliminate a part of the
> confusion about what it means to use the cluster or have secondary 
> in play.
> 73 -- Paul VO1HE
> _______________________________________________
> CQ-Contest mailing list
> CQ-Contest@contesting.com
> http://lists.contesting.com/mailman/listinfo/cq-contest
CQ-Contest mailing list

<Prev in Thread] Current Thread [Next in Thread>