[Top] [All Lists]

[CQ-Contest] SNS Thursday Night

To: <cq-contest@contesting.com>, "'SMC Mail Reflector'" <smc@w9smc.com>
Subject: [CQ-Contest] SNS Thursday Night
From: "Mike Wetzel" <mjwetzel@comcast.net>
Reply-to: mjwetzel@comcast.net
Date: Wed, 21 Jul 2010 21:49:16 -0400
List-post: <cq-contest@contesting.com">mailto:cq-contest@contesting.com>
Announcing the NCCC's (Northern California Contest Club) weekly Thursday
night running of the SNS.


Since SNS is a practice and we are trying hard to encourage newcomers,
please wait just a split second on jump balls (several stations answering a
CQ).  One thing I have noticed is that if a newcomer inherits a freq and
more then one station drop in their call, he is likely to be overwhelmed (we
all know what I mean) and not respond at all. If I hear another response to
a station inheriting the frequency I do not call (only SNS). Go ahead and
call if no station is heard.


Please keep your speed to between 18 to 26  WPM.  Suggest using 18WPM for
the first 10 minutes then increase as you see fit. 


The Slow Speed NS practice is from 0200z to 0225z+ (Friday UTC, Thursday
local time).  That's starting at 10:00pm EDT, 9:00pm CDT, 8:00pm MDT and
7:00pm PDT, local time Thursday .


20 m      14037-14043 
40 m      7040-7047 
80 m      3537-3543

POWER: 100 watt limit.


If you don't hear a CQ, send a CQ and don't worry about the couplet since
this is only practice and hopefully an introduction to sprints for newbies.
I think stations might answer a CQ more likely than call CQ themselves.
With that said remember that newbies are listening to get up the nerve to
jump in so don't hesitate to make Q's.  Also since this is only a practice
you can go past the 15 minute time suggestion.


NS 0230z to 0300z (ladder starts this week, see N6ZFO's announcement). 


Sites to help everyone for sprint contests.





Mike W9RE


CQ-Contest mailing list

<Prev in Thread] Current Thread [Next in Thread>