I think the intent for CQ awards, DXCC rules are that if you go to J6
and operate you cannot count what you worked there for your W0MU
awards. I can apply for J6 awards with my J6 contacts. If I remote
operate from J6, which I can't, those contacts should count for J6, but
may not count for any award. Where the operator sits should not
matter. What matters is where is the transmitter located.
W0MU-1 CC Cluster w0mu.net:23 or w0mu-1.dnsdynamic.com
On 6/21/2012 8:38 AM, Gerry Hull wrote:
> Interesting, Ken....
> Just to clarify a bit further, I'm going to assume this means that you CAN
> operate from a different country than the physical station, and that you
> CAN receive trophies or certificates for a CQ-sponsored CONTEST
> operation, BUT, you cannot apply for any other CQ Award (WAC, WPX, etc)
> unless you both operate from, and have a station in, the same country?
> Is that how you guys are understanding this?
> Wow, that's threading the needle...
> Interesting that the Cabrillo format does not have a overlay for
> COUNTRY-OF-OPERATOR... So, how does one know if the Op was remote or not?
> We know, usually, because the op tells us. I know of quite a few people
> who DX across country borders remotely, but keep it quiet. This is
> impossible to enforce.
> 73, Gerry W1VE/VE1RM
> (Ken, hopefully fibre or something decent will get out to West Prince -- I
> think only wireless internet or Bell Aliant DSL now -- both not fast enough
> for decent contest-capable remote operation.)
> On Wed, Jun 20, 2012 at 11:17 PM, Ken Widelitz <firstname.lastname@example.org> wrote:
>> Bob Cox, K3EST, has confirmed that this rule does NOT superceed the
>> CQ contest rules.
>> 73, Ken, K6LA / VY2TT
>> CQ-Contest mailing list
> CQ-Contest mailing list
CQ-Contest mailing list