DXCC counts *entities*, not countries. Alaska qualifies as a DXCC
*entity* under the following rule:
"2. Geographic Separation Entity
A Geographic Separation Entity may result when a single Political
Entity is physically separated into two or more parts. The part of
such a Political Entity that contains the capital city is considered
the Parent for tests under these criteria. One or more of the
remaining parts resulting from the separation may then qualify for
separate status as a DXCC Entity if they satisfy paragraph a) or b) of
the Geographic Separation Criteria, as follows.
a) Land Areas:
A new Entity results when part of a DXCC Entity is separated from its
Parent by 100 kilometers or more of land of another DXCC Entity.
Inland waters may be included in the measurement. The test for
separation into two areas requires that a line drawn along a great
circle in any direction from any part of the proposed Entity must not
touch the Parent before crossing 100 kilometers of the intervening
~iain / N6ML
On Wed, Oct 31, 2012 at 8:28 PM, Charles Harpole <email@example.com> wrote:
> When is a country also a state?... in KL7. A guy with a KL7 call sign can
> move to Kansas and legally use that call sign there, his being in America
> in both instances. However, due to backward DXCC admin, when does he count
> as Alaska, and as an entity? When Alaska became a state, it should have
> lost its DXCC entity status. OR, make all KL7s get a lower 48 call sign to
> live in the lower 48.
> Same problem if KP4 became a US state........... Hey change is a
> constant. Ch
> On Thu, Nov 1, 2012 at 4:57 AM, Randy Thompson K5ZD <firstname.lastname@example.org>wrote:
>> This question has come up several times so I will answer it here.
>> You should log the call sign as sent.
>> The log checking software will handle placing the call in the right country
>> (or judging if the call sign is not correct).
>> True, your logging software doesn't seem to count your score correctly, but
>> that is not a factor for the contest committee since the Cabrillo format
>> doesn't mark multipliers. As mentioned above, we will recalculate the
>> of all logs submitted.
>> As I said in the webinar. Put your log in Cabrillo format and send it in.
>> Randy Thompson, K5ZD
>> Director - CQ WW DX Contest
>> email: email@example.com
>> web: www.cqww.com
>> Facebook: www.facebook.com/cqwwdx
>> > -----Original Message-----
>> > From: CQ-Contest [mailto:firstname.lastname@example.org] On Behalf Of
>> > Frank Grossmann
>> > Sent: Wednesday, October 31, 2012 12:32 PM
>> > To: 'CQ-Contest Reflector'
>> > Subject: [CQ-Contest] CQWW/KL7 in lower states
>> > Hi all,
>> > hi contest committee , Randy,
>> > sorry if this has been asked before.
>> > I worked KL7HM who is in Arizona, zone 3.
>> > He was sending out "KL7HM" as callsign, and Win-Test recorded this as
>> > Alaska, with a probable mistake on the zone side.
>> > Am I allowed to put him in the log as KL7HM/K7?
>> > Or would that eliminate the validity of the QSO or make it unique?
>> > Thanks
>> > Frank
>> > DL2CC
>> > _______________________________________________
>> > CQ-Contest mailing list
>> > CQ-Contest@contesting.com
>> > http://lists.contesting.com/mailman/listinfo/cq-contest
>> CQ-Contest mailing list
> Charly, HS0ZCW
> CQ-Contest mailing list
CQ-Contest mailing list