[CQ-Contest] CQ WW SSB. Mathematics

Zack Widup w9sz at prairienet.org
Tue Aug 2 08:50:24 EDT 2005

On Tue, 2 Aug 2005, Alfred J. Frugoli (KE1FO) wrote:

> You should be penalized because you didn't verify that they had your 
> call correctly.  Typo's into the log will never work out right with the 
> penalty rule, but the idea is that each contact is an accurate *2 way* 
> exchange of information.  You have 2 responsibilities during the 
> exchange - that you copy his info correctly, and you make sure he copies 
> your info correctly. 
> 73 de Al, KE1FO

There is an unknown here which I would have no control over.  The op at 
the other end may very well have copied my call correctly but typed it 
wrong.  I've done it myself.  I did it on Field Day this year a couple 
times, but fortunately I corrected it mid-contest. But at 6 AM after being 
awake for 24 hours, I tend to get a little hazy and things like that 

This didn't happen so much when paper logs were in use. I'm not 
recommending that we return to paper logging, I just want to make the 
point that an error can creep in this way.

73, Zack W9SZ

More information about the CQ-Contest mailing list