[CQ-Contest] Sweepstakes -Automatic Fill - 93 or 67

Robert Naumann w5ov at w5ov.com
Fri Apr 10 06:59:22 PDT 2009


What is your callsign?

Please read the rest of my email where I explain where the number likely
came from.

Please also read the actual rules and note that there is no mention of any
penalty or anything related to verification of the validity of the check
being a specific number. Just because it is mentioned in the rule, does not
imply that there is a need to assign a penalty.

As I mentioned, using the last 2 of your first year licensed is merely a
convenient number that everyone *can* use to put in place of the check in
the exchange format. It serves no other purpose and has no other meaning.

Maybe the ARRL will see all of this silly discussion and add something to
the rule to make clear that the number sent does not really matter as long
as it remains constant throughout a contest. They have made this statement
in the past informally.


Bob W5OV

-----Original Message-----
From: Joe [mailto:nss at mwt.net] 
Sent: Friday, April 10, 2009 8:47 AM
To: w5ov at w5ov.com
Cc: Stan Stockton; cq-contest at contesting.com
Subject: Re: [CQ-Contest] Sweepstakes -Automatic Fill - 93 or 67

w5ov at w5ov.com wrote:

>No, it's not my opinion. The league has made the statement in the past
>that the ck number can be any number you choose to use as long as you
>don't change it during the contest.
If this is true  then why even make the statement in the RULES saying 
that it is supposed to be that year.  Why make the statement in a RULE  
if it is NOT a RULE?

More information about the CQ-Contest mailing list