[CQ-Contest] Do all contest participants need to follow the rules?
dougw9wi at gmail.com
Sat Mar 14 15:10:24 PDT 2009
> James Duffey wrote:
>> Ed - As part of the comments on the K1TTT spotting report, you wrote
>> (in part):
>> "Self Spotters don't "cheat" unless they enter the contest by
>> submitting a log."
>> Does this imply that the only participants in a contest that have to
>> follow the rules are those who submit logs? It is clear that
>> submitting a log is the only way rule violators can be sanctioned by
>> the sponsors, but if those operators not following the rules gives
>> those that do submit logs an advantage, is it still OK to say that you
>> need to follow the rules only if you intend to submit a log?
>> Obviously, this applies to several areas of the rules, not just self
>> spotting. - Duffey
While not really having a strong opinion on the K1TTT spotting report, I
do think Duffey raises an interesting philosophical question: If you
*don't* submit a log, is it OK to ignore some of the rules?
I know I've seen operators say they've operated high power in the NAQP,
without submitting a log, just out of curiousity. Myself, I've blown
away the 500-meter-circle rule in any number of contests by operating
mobile. (20 years ago, I operated one ARRL DX CW from nine different
Very recently we've had discussion of single-band entrants operating
multiple bands but not submitting the "wrong-band" QSOs for credit.
(only as checklogs) (this practice is obviously *encouraged* by contest
I suppose all of us would say an intentional violation of rules is
wrong, even if a log isn't submitted, if that violation disrupts the
operation of the contest. Using precedence "J" in Sweepstakes.
Ignoring the rule against dupes and working the same station five times
on the same band. Ignoring the QSY rule in Sprint.
Is there a point at which intentional violation of rules by a
non-entrant is wrong even if it doesn't disrupt the contest?
Doug Smith W9WI
Pleasant View, TN EM66
More information about the CQ-Contest