[CQ-Contest] PR #7 - WRTC-2014 Announces New Advisory Council Member - W1UF

Randy Thompson K5ZD k5zd at charter.net
Wed Jan 4 18:35:17 PST 2012



Windham, NH

January 5, 2012


WRTC-2014 Announces New Advisory Council Member - W1UF


WRTC 2014, Inc., host of the 2014 World Radiosport Team Championship
competition, is pleased to announce that L. Dennis Shapiro, W1UF, has joined
the WRTC2014 Advisory Council. The Advisory Council consists of individuals
who have experience in the execution of major events and are willing to
provide significant financial resources to the project.


Dennis is a lifelong New Englander and maintains two stations - one in the
Boston area and one on Nantucket Island. He is an active DXer and currently
an occasional contester, though he was extremely active in contests in the
past.  Dennis explains his motivation for joining the Advisory Council, "I
am interested in building international friendships and see WRTC as
furthering that goal."


"Dennis is a highly-respected member of the amateur radio and business
communities in New England," said Doug Grant, K1DG, Chairman of WRTC-2014.
"His track record of successful business management and skill in helping
organize competitive events such as the Nantucket Yacht Race bring great
value to our team."


The WRTC2014 Advisory Council is responsible for advising the organizers on
the planning of the event. Council members are all well-respected in the
amateur radio community as operators and station builders and have
demonstrated success in business. They generally have experience in the
planning and execution of major events and are able to provide guidance and
assistance in areas such as fundraising, project management, and making
connections with useful resources. These individuals have also committed to
provide significant personal financial support to the project.


For information about WRTC-2014 or joining the Advisory Council, contact
WRTC Chairman, Doug Grant, K1DG, via e-mail at k1dg at wrtc2014.org. 


About WRTC 2014


The World Radiosport Team Championship (WRTC) is held every four years and
consists of approximately 50 two-person teams of amateur radio operators
from around the world competing in a test of operating skill. Unlike most
on-the-air competitions, all stations are required to use identical antennas
from the same geographic region, eliminating all variables except operating
ability. Previous WRTCs have been held in Seattle (1990), San Francisco
(1996), Slovenia (2000), Finland (2002), Brazil (2006), and Russia (2010).
More information is available at www.wrtc2014.org. 


About L. Dennis Shapiro, W1UF


Dennis was first licensed in 1947 and was an early adopter of SSB using home
built transmitting equipment in the early 1950's.  An Electrical Engineer,
he founded Aritech Corporation in 1960 that was sold to a NYSE company in
1974.  In 1978 he became CEO and Chairman of Lifeline Systems, Inc. and
retired as Chairman when it was acquired by Philips in 2006.  He is an
active pilot with an ATP rating and a Fellow of The Explorers Club.  



More information about the CQ-Contest mailing list