[CQ-Contest] WRTC News #19 - WRTC2014 Announces Invitation of Team Leaders

Randy Thompson K5ZD k5zd at charter.net
Tue Sep 24 23:52:15 EDT 2013

Windham, NH
September 24, 2013

WRTC2014 Announces Invitation of Team Leaders

WRTC2014, Inc., host of the 2014 World Radiosport Team Championship (WRTC),
is proud to announce the operators that have been invited to form teams for
the competition to be held in July 2014. In addition to the 51 Team Leaders
who emerged from the qualifying process, the announcement includes two Wild
Card selections, a Youth team, and the defending champion from WRTC2010.

The selection process was managed by Dan Street, K1TO, himself a 3 time
competitor and winner of the event. “The competition for a place at WRTC2014
was very close. With qualifying points available from an unprecedented 55
events, it was terrific that a number of the Selection Area races came down
to the very final qualifying event -- ARRL DX SSB 2013.”

The maximum possible qualifying score was 11,600 points. WRTC2014 Chairman
Doug Grant, K1DG, noted, “It is impressive that more than 25 applicants
scored over 11,000! WRTC2014 will have the highest-qualified Team Leaders

The Team Leaders come from all continents; 27 from Europe, 15 from North
America, five from Asia, two from South America, and one each from Africa
and Oceania. Ten of the Team Leaders in North America are first time WRTC
competitors. By comparison, Europe produced a more veteran group with only
eight rookies among the 27 slots.

Two wild card teams were selected from among the remaining applicants.
Street explained the selections, “Suad, DK6XZ, finished less than 6 points
out of the last Team Leader spot in EU2, thus being the closest
non-qualifier.  Alex, LZ4AX, is well known for his consistently solid
efforts from K3CR, including his first-ever USA Single-Operator All Bands
victory last year in the CQ World Wide DX Contest.”

The Youth Team is a special category created by the WRTC2014 organizers to
recognize contesters less than 25 years of age. Filippo, IZ1LBG, posted a
terrific set of qualifying scores to claim the spot.

According to tradition, the previous WRTC champion receives an automatic
invitation to defend the title. Vladimir, RW1A, winner of WRTC2010 in
Moscow, has already indicated his desire to compete in New England.

WRTC is a competition among two-operator teams. Each Team Leader will select
one Team Mate for the competition. Team Leaders must accept their invitation
to WRTC2014 and nominate their Team Mate by October 15, 2013. If a Team
Leader is unable to accept, the invitation will go to the next highest
qualifying applicant from the selection area.

Once all of the Team Leader invitations are accepted, there will only be one
other way to gain entrance to the WRTC2014 competition – through a Team
Sponsorship. A Team Sponsor donation earns the right to select a team. Only
two Team Sponsorships are currently available. Contact Doug, K1DG, or Randy,
K5ZD, for details. Sponsored Teams will be announced at a later date.

There are less than 10 months remaining until WRTC2014! All questions
regarding WRTC2014 team selection should be submitted by e-mail to
teamleader at wrtc2014.org.

List of Team Leaders

Selection Area	Team Leader	Name
AF	3V/KF5EYY	Achraf Chaabane
AS1	R9DX		Vadim Ovsyannikov
AS2	RC9O		Anatoly Polevik
AS3	5B4WN		Marios Nicolaou
AS4	BA4ALC	Jie Zheng
AS5	JH5GHM	Katsuhiro "Don" Kondou
EU1	CT1ILT	Filipe Monteiro Lopes
EU1	F8DBF		Sebastien Le Gall
EU1	M0CFW		Kazunori Watanabe
EU1	G0CKV		Olof Lundberg
EU1	F4DXW		Stephane Van Langhenhoven
EU2	LX2A		Philippe Lutty
EU2	IK2NCJ	Luca Aliprandi
EU2	DJ5MW		Manfred Wolf
EU2	IK1HJS	Carlo De Mari
EU2	DL1QQ		Sandy Raeker
EU3	ES5TV		Tonno Vahk
EU3	OH2UA		Toni Lindén
EU3	LY9A		Gediminas Lucinskas
EU3	YL1ZF		Kaspars Uztics
EU4	OE3DIA	Ivan Dobrocky
EU4	OM2VL		Végh László
EU4	OM3BH		Rastislav Hrnko
EU4	OE2VEL	Wolfgang "Wolf" Klier
EU4	S50A		Tine Brajnik
EU5	E77DX		Emir "Braco" Memic
EU5	UU4JMG	Andriy Kotovsky
EU5	4O3A		Ranko Boca
EU5	UR0MC		Roman Tkachenko
EU5	9A6XX		Hrvoje Horvat
EU6	RL3FT		Iurii Khmelenko
EU6	RX3APM	Sergey Dyachenko
EU6	UA3DPX	Andrey  Melanin
NA1	K1LZ		Krassimir Petkov
NA2	W2RE		Ray Higgins
NA3	KE3X		Ken Low
NA4E	NN3W		Richard DiDonna
NA4W	AD4Z		Julio Henriquez
NA5	N5DX		Kevin Stockton
NA6	N6MJ		Daniel Craig
NA6	K6AM		John Barcroft
NA7	K7RL		Mitch Mason
NA8	K8MR		Jim Stahl
NA9	W9RE		Michael Wetzel
NA10	KU1CW		Alex Tkatch
NA11	VY2ZM		Jeffrey Briggs
NA12	VE7CC		Lee Sawkins
NA13	K9VV		Fred Kleber
OC	KH6ND		Michael Gibson
SA1	PY2YU		Hamilton Oliveira Martins
SA2	CX6VM		Jorge Diez
WILD	LZ4AX		Alexander Avramov
WILD	DK6XZ		Suad Zukic
YOUTH	IZ1LBG	Filippo Vairo
CHAMP	RW1A		Vladimir Aksenov

See http://www.wrtc2014.org/qualifying/team-selection/ for an explanation of
the selection areas and the qualification process.


About WRTC2014

The World Radiosport Team Championship (WRTC) is held every four years and
consists of 50+ two-person teams of amateur radio operators from around the
world competing in a test of operating skill.  Unlike most on-the-air
competitions, all stations are required to use identical antennas from the
same geographic region, eliminating all variables except operating ability.
Previous WRTCs have been held in Seattle (1990), San Francisco (1996),
Slovenia (2000), Finland (2002), Brazil (2006), and Russia (2010).  More
information is available at www.wrtc2014.org or contact WRTC Chairman Doug
Grant, K1DG, via e-mail at k1dg at wrtc2014.org.

More information about the CQ-Contest mailing list