[CQ-Contest] WRTC News #24 - WRTC2014 Receives Colvin Award Grant

Randy Thompson K5ZD k5zd at charter.net
Mon Mar 31 08:53:02 EDT 2014


Windham, NH
March 31, 2014

WRTC2014 Receives Colvin Award Grant

WRTC 2014, Inc., host of the 2014 World Radiosport Team Championship
competition, is pleased to announce that it has received a significant
financial contribution in the form of a Colvin Award Grant.

The Colvin Award is managed by ARRL and funded by an endowment established
by Lloyd D. Colvin, W6KG (SK). The Colvin Award is conferred in the form of
grants in support of Amateur Radio projects that promote international
goodwill in the field of DX.

"We are honored to receive this prestigious award," said Doug Grant, K1DG,
Chairman of WRTC2014.  "More than just a radio competition, WRTC is a place
where competitors from around the world can create or renew lasting

Fifty-nine (59) teams of top amateur radio contest operators from more than
40 countries will travel to the New England area July 10-14, 2014 to compete
in WRTC2014. Participation is based on qualifying scores posted in major
contests between 2010 and 2014. A group of referees and judges, themselves
well known contest operators, will oversee the competition and confirm the

More information about the Colvin Award is available at

For information about WRTC2014, please visit www.wrtc2014.org, or contact
WRTC Chairman, Doug Grant, K1DG, via e-mail at k1dg at wrtc2014.org. 

About WRTC2014

The World Radiosport Team Championship (WRTC) is held every four years and
consists of 50+ two-person teams of amateur radio operators from around the
world competing in a test of operating skill.  Unlike most on-the-air
competitions, all stations are required to use identical antennas from the
same geographic region, eliminating all variables except operating ability.
Previous WRTCs have been held in Seattle (1990), San Francisco (1996),
Slovenia (2000), Finland (2002), Brazil (2006), and Russia (2010).  More
information is available at www.wrtc2014.org or contact WRTC Chairman Doug
Grant, K1DG, via e-mail at k1dg at wrtc2014.org.

More information about the CQ-Contest mailing list