[CQ-Contest] Field Day SO2R

donovanf at starpower.net donovanf at starpower.net
Tue Jun 16 14:51:06 EDT 2015

" A co uple of years ago, someone put an idiotic rule into FD which says no "octopus" can be used at FD " 

A little fact checking is in order... 

That rule has been in place for at least forty five years! See the rules for the 
1970 Field Day. The rule was put in place because of the use of octupuses 
by at least one entrant in the 1A category. 



----- Original Message -----

From: "K5WA" <K5WA at Comcast.net> 
To: cq-contest at contesting.com 
Sent: Tuesday, June 16, 2015 3:21:25 PM 
Subject: Re: [CQ-Contest] Field Day SO2R 


A couple of years ago, someone put an idiotic rule into FD which says no 
"octopus" can be used at FD. This had to be a politically motivated rule 
which kills some aspects of innovation at FD (which is an event FOR 
innovation at multiple levels) and was probably targeted at one cross-town 
rival of the rule writer. So, if you follow that vaguely written, poorly 
worded "rule" for this non-contest, you would have to go 2A to comply. Now, 
if you just happen to have a fast antenna switch that doesn't say "Octopus" 
or "Simulcaster" on the side of it, then SO2R your little self away. ;-) 

Line 4 in the ARRL FD rules. 

The use of switching systems that allow for lockouts in order to use 
multiple transmitters (i.e., an "octopus") in an attempt to enter a 
lower-number-of-transmitters class are prohibited (i.e. using 2 transmitters 
that can transmit simultaneously, with two operators, and a lock-out system 
and entering class 1A). The use of simulcasting devices which allow a single 
operator to key and transmit on more than one transmitter at a time, is 

Have fun at FD. We'll see you as K5TU this year if the Texas floods and 105 
degree heat doesn't get us. 

Bob K5WA 

Message: 10 
Date: Mon, 15 Jun 2015 16:06:36 -0700 
From: Jim Brown <k9yc at audiosystemsgroup.com> 
To: cq-contest at contesting.com 
Subject: [CQ-Contest] Field Day SO2R 
Message-ID: <557F5A7C.80502 at audiosystemsgroup.com> 
Content-Type: text/plain; charset=utf-8; format=flowed 

A small group of us have been doing FD QRP 1A Battery for several years, and 
I've recently considered doing it SO2R. The question is, does SO2R put me in 
1A or 2A if there's only a single operator and software insures that one one 
radio can transmit at the same time? 

73, Jim K9YC 

CQ-Contest mailing list 
CQ-Contest at contesting.com 

More information about the CQ-Contest mailing list