[CQ-Contest] W1AW/5 in SS. "everyone was affected the same way, so nn problem"
Ron Notarius W3WN
wn3vaw at verizon.net
Tue Jun 23 12:59:45 EDT 2015
Not complicated at all.
There were two special event stations operating during SS. Both just happened to have (due to a unique set or circumstances) the call W1AW, but they were operating from different states and had different regional designators.
Therefore, for all practical purposes, they can be considered two stations for the purpose of SS Rule 6.1
Mobiles remain a single station, regardless of where they are at the time. The only dilemna I can see with a mobile is if you work them in state "X" first (along with many others at the time) and then later work them in state "Y" as a new multiplier. But that is not what's at issue right now.
73, ron w3wn
On 06/23/15, john at kk9a.com wrote:
This is a complicated issue. According to the Sweepstakes rules: "6.1. Work
each station only once, regardless of the frequency band." I do not know
how the ARRL defines "Station". Are multiple operators allowed to use the
same club callsign in a contest from different locatiosn? What happens if I
work a mobile station in one state and again later in another state? I have
had this happen and I considered the second QSO to be a dupe.
To: cq-contest at contesting.com
Subject: Re: [CQ-Contest] W1AW/5 in SS. "everyone was affected the
same way, so no problem".
From: Steve London <n2icarrl at gmail.com>
Reply-to: n2ic at arrl.net
Date: Mon, 22 Jun 2015 07:57:32 -0600
As you say "ostensibly". I was the author of the Phone SS writeups in QST
and on the web. While I don't do the log checking, nor do I set ARRL policy,
I do feel responsibility for "getting it right". The first time I heard of
this issue was the posting by Wes, AC8JF, on Friday, June 19. I immediately
forwarded it to Matt, W1MSW, the ARRL HQ contest branch manager. Let's wait
for a reply from him before we condemn the entire ARRL.
CQ-Contest mailing list
CQ-Contest at contesting.com
More information about the CQ-Contest