[CQ-Contest] Two Single operators, one club call sign

Robert Chudek - K0RC k0rc at citlink.net
Fri Mar 4 11:19:01 PST 2011

Hello Maarten,

English difficulties are not the exclusive territory of people who have 
a different primary language. Here's a true story I hope you enjoy.

My younger brother had just received his novice license (early 1960's). 
I am certain he was both anxious and nervous to make his first radio 
(CW) contact. I told him how a typical contact would 'work'. A station 
calls CQ, someone answers, the CQer will send his call, a signal report, 
QTH and name, and then end with the caller's call sign. Then it will be 
other stations' turn to send the same info back.

My brother found a strong station calling CQ so I told him to answer him 
with his new callsign a couple of times. The station came back to him 
and started sending the predicted information. I was sitting across the 
room to (hopefully) reduce his anxiety and tension. I was copying the 
other station in my head.

My brother started his part of the exchange, but after sending his QTH 
and name he added "I 'misted' your name". When I heard that, I told him 
"his name is Walt". So at the other end, the operator heard: "I misted 
your name... (long pause)... Walt".

I wonder if the other operator got a chuckle out of that. I should ask 
my brother remembers his first contact! I certainly do... and my funny 
bone still enjoys thinking about "misting Walt's name"!

73 de Bob - KØRC in MN

Oh, BTW... our mother is 100% Dutch (the DeBruin family from Driel, 
Gelderland, NL). Maybe the 'misting' has something to do with the 
heredity??? :-)


On 3/4/2011 11:07 AM, w5ov at w5ov.com wrote:
> Maarten,
> (sic) means I'm quoting your original spelling - which was not intended to
> be critical - I actually enjoy such variations of interpretations from
> those who do not speak English as their first language.
> I apologize for causing any distress, none was intended.
> The bottom line is that there is no category that allows for two stations
> to submit two entries using the same callsign. If they must use the same
> callsign from the club station, they should join together and do multi-2.
> Again, sorry for not being more clear and I did not intend to offend you.
> 73,
> Bob W5OV
>> Robert and Ron,
>> Robert, I'm not sure what you mean with *"mist" (sic)* but I guess it's
>> not
>> much good.
>> Sometimes some of you people forget that not everybody in the world is a
>> native English speaker. I do my best to play by the rules and if I'm in
>> doubt I ask some to help me with it. This is why I posted my question,
>> just
>> to be sure. I expected some helpful and respectful answers but I guess
>> I posted my question on the wrong reflector.
>> By the way, how is your Dutch these days?
>> If two operators are in the same room of the club station and they both
>> use
>> a different call sign, then everything is fine. If they use the same call
>> sign it instantly turns into a M/2 operation even if they have nothing to
>> do
>> with each other.
>> That's a way of looking at it and I see now it's the only way to look at
>> it.
>> Please forgive me that I was so ignorant and failed to interpret the rules
>> correctly from the start.
>> John, Thanks for you helpful reply, I appreciate it.
>> Best 73,
>> Maarten PD2R
>> 2011/3/4<w5ov at w5ov.com>
>>> Yes.
>>> This is called "Multi-Two" or "Multi-Operator, Two Transmitter".
>>> Here's what you "mist" (sic):
>>> 2.3.2.Multioperator, Two Transmitter:
>>> maximum of two transmitted signals at any given time, on
>>> different bands.
>>> transmitter is limited to 6 band changes (maximum) in any
>>> clock hour. Unused band changes from radio one may not be transferred to
>>> radio two.
>>> clock hour is from zero through 59 minutes.
>>> changes are defined so that, for example, a change from
>>> 20
>>> meters to 40 meters and then back to 20 meters constitutes two band
>>> changes.
>>> of the 6-band change rule or improper logging will
>>> result in an entry reclassification to the Multioperator
>>> Multitransmitter
>>> class.
>>> transmitters may work any and all stations; the second
>>> transmitter is not limited to working new multipliers only. However, a
>>> station may only be worked once per band regardless of which transmitter
>>> is used.
>>> of the two transmitters must keep a separate, chronological
>>> log for the entire contest period.
>>> Cabrillo log must indicate which transmitter made each QSO
>>> in
>>> this category.
>>>> Contesters,
>>>> Just wandering about this one:
>>>> Is it possible for two single operators, lets say one SO on 40 meter
>>> and
>>>> the
>>>> other SO on 20 meter, to use the same club call sign during the
>>> upcomming
>>>> ARRL International DX contest?
>>>> I guess there could be some problems when submitting the logs to the
>>>> robot.
>>>> There is a good chance the robot will only use the last uploaded log
>>> and
>>>> disregard the log which was oploaded first since both logs are
>>> submitted
>>>> with the same call sign.
>>>> Can't find anthing in the rules about this one (yes, I have read all
>>> 3(!)
>>>> sets of rules on the ARRL website;-)) but I could have mist it.
>>>> Best 73,
>>>> Maarten PD2R
>>>> --
>>>> dldledememt
>>>   >  _______________________________________________
>>>> CQ-Contest mailing list
>>>> CQ-Contest at contesting.com
>>>> http://lists.contesting.com/mailman/listinfo/cq-contest

More information about the CQ-Contest mailing list