[CQ-Contest] WRTC2014 News #12 - Official Competition Rules Released

Randy Thompson K5ZD k5zd at charter.net
Sat Jul 7 19:56:08 PDT 2012


July 7, 2012


WRTC2014, Inc., host of the 2014 World Radiosport Team Championship
competition announced that the official competition rules have been
published at http://www.wrtc2014.org/contest/wrtc-rules/. These are the
rules that will be followed by the onsite competitors. 

"Thanks to everyone who provided feedback during the rules review process,"
said Andy Blank, N2NT, Director of the WRTC2014 Rules Committee. "We wanted
to release the rules prior to the 2012 IARU Championship so that potential
competitors and the WRTC test stations would have the opportunity in 2012
and 2013 to practice under the rules."

"Building on the fabulous job done by the WRTC 2010 Committee in Moscow, we
have added a new twist - the change to a Two-Operator Two-Transmitter
competition," continued Blank. "Both stations will be permitted to transmit
at any time."

Two-Operator Two-Transmitter removes the need for transmitter interlock
hardware and will help equalize the stations by reducing the filtering and
switching requirements. This should result in higher QSO totals and greater
emphasis on the operating skills of both team members. The real-time
decisions by the competitors to balance running and multiplier chasing will
be more important than ever before.

Scoring will place a premium on making DX contacts with extra points for
contacts outside North America. There is a slight modification from the
normal IARU Championship scoring (WRTC will give 2 points for zone 8 and HQ
stations vs. 1 point in the IARU rules). Multipliers are based on DXCC
countries and IARU HQ stations per band. This scoring is only for the WRTC
competition stations and was done to present competitors with a choice of
scoring strategies.

Questions about the rules may be submitted to rules at wrtc2014.org. Responses
and clarifications will be published on the WRTC2014 web site.

About WRTC2014

The World Radiosport Team Championship (WRTC) is held every four years and
consists of approximately 50 two-person teams of amateur radio operators
from around the world competing in a test of operating skill. Unlike most
on-the-air competitions, all stations are required to use identical antennas
from the same geographic region, eliminating all variables except operating
ability. Previous WRTCs have been held in Seattle (1990), San Francisco
(1996), Slovenia (2000), Finland (2002), Brazil (2006), and Russia (2010).
More information is available at www.wrtc2014.org or contact WRTC Chairman,
Doug Grant, K1DG, via e-mail at k1dg at wrtc2014.org. 

More information about the CQ-Contest mailing list