[CQ-Contest] CQ WW Rule Changes

Steve ik4wmh at virgilio.it
Wed Oct 17 07:40:35 EDT 2012

Hello Charles,

Tuesday, October 16, 2012, 2:15:16 PM, you wrote:

CH> Hurray for insisting that every contact contains both call signs
CH> on BOTH ends of the QSO.

I admit english is not my main language so I may have misinterpreted
the rules, but where have you read that BOTH parties must send BOTH
callsigns during a qso?

From their "explanation of changes" page I read:

"Most entrants answering a solicitation from a Runner (calling CQ,
QRZ, TEST, etc.) do not send the call sign of the station they are
trying to work. They simply send their own call and then wait to see
if the Runner answers them. This is OK"

and to me that means you don't have to send BOTH callsigns to have a
complete, valid qso.

Am I missing anything?

Steve IK4WMH

More information about the CQ-Contest mailing list