[CQ-Contest] ARRL FD Rule 4 Opinion?...
gerry at yccc.org
Thu Jun 6 12:43:00 EDT 2013
My point is to demo a technique, not to try and cheat/win a category.
(That would be very hard, as many of the club's folks are casual ops).
Switching to 5A not possible -- club does not want to do that.
That's why I think the rule is silly. It's not supposed to be a contest.
73, Gerry W1VE
On Thu, Jun 6, 2013 at 11:56 AM, W0MU Mike Fatchett <w0mu at w0mu.com> wrote:
> Wouldn't have been easier just to say that if you transmit signals with 4
> rigs you are 4 (X) if you transmit with 2 rigs then you are 2(x).
> In Gerry's situation if he wanted to show off the ability to listen with
> another radio while sharing the same antenna and that radio never transmits
> then I don't see this as a problem.
> The last time I checked this is FD right? An exercise to test our ability
> to setup remotely and make a bunch of contacts. In a real emergency
> technologies such as this device might be very helpful. Why would we want
> to discourage, ingenuity and advances in technology.
> Most of us have fun just getting on. Posting winning scores is not what
> this event should be about.
> Mike W0MU
> On 6/6/2013 7:22 AM, Gerry Hull wrote:
>> I'm part of a 4A,
>> I'm one band.
>> I would not intend to EVER transmit on another band.
>> I would not intend to transmit two signals on the same band -- in fact,
>> with the arrangement, it's impossible.
>> This would be a two-op single-band position, two ops with one either
>> listening to the run frequency or tuning the band for other stations.
>> I wanted to show this "bip-bop" two-operator single-band configuration to
>> people in the club I'm operating with (not all contesters).
>> If three other transmitters are in use at our station, is this still
>> illegal?? Again, it does not make sense to me if it is.
>> If the consensus is that it should not be done, I'll not do it... I just
>> thought it would be cool to demonstrate, and allow more participation.
>> 73, Gerry W1VE.
>> On Thu, Jun 6, 2013 at 8:15 AM, Steve London <n2icarrl at gmail.com> wrote:
>> On 06/05/2013 11:19 AM, Gerry Hull wrote:
>>> There was already a discussion about the new addition to rule 4:
>>>> "The use of switching systems that allow for lockouts
>>>> in order to use multiple transmitters (i.e., an “octopus”) in an attempt
>>>> enter a lower-number-of-transmitters
>>>> class are prohibited (i.e. using 2 transmitters that can transmit
>>>> simultaneously, with two operators, and a lock-out
>>>> system and entering class 1A)."
>>>> However, it's not clear to me:
>>>> If I use something like an Acom commutator to feed two radios to a
>>>> antenna, and only one radio can transmit at a time (no simultaneous
>>>> transmission), does this satisfy the rule?
>>>> Assuming you are claiming this is 1A or 1B for Field Day, if this
>>> isn't an
>>> octopus, than what is ?
>>> Steve, N2IC
>>> CQ-Contest mailing list
>>> CQ-Contest at contesting.com
>> CQ-Contest mailing list
>> CQ-Contest at contesting.com
> CQ-Contest mailing list
> CQ-Contest at contesting.com
More information about the CQ-Contest