[CQ-Contest] ARRL FD Rule 4 Opinion?...

W0MU Mike Fatchett w0mu at w0mu.com
Thu Jun 6 11:56:10 EDT 2013

Wouldn't have been easier just to say that if you transmit signals with 
4 rigs you are 4 (X)  if you transmit with 2 rigs then you are 2(x).

In Gerry's situation if he wanted to show off the ability to listen with 
another radio while sharing the same antenna and that radio never 
transmits then I don't see this as a problem.

The last time I checked this is FD right?  An exercise to test our 
ability to setup remotely and make a bunch of contacts.  In a real 
emergency technologies such as this device might be very helpful. Why 
would we want to discourage, ingenuity and advances in technology.

Most of us have fun just getting on.  Posting winning scores is not what 
this event should be about.

Mike W0MU

On 6/6/2013 7:22 AM, Gerry Hull wrote:
> I'm part of a 4A,
> I'm one band.
> I would not intend to EVER transmit on another band.
> I would not intend to transmit two signals on the same band -- in fact,
> with the arrangement, it's impossible.
> This would be a two-op single-band position, two ops with one either
> listening to the run frequency or tuning the band for other stations.
> I wanted to show this "bip-bop" two-operator single-band configuration to
> people in the club I'm operating with (not all contesters).
> If three other transmitters are in use at our station, is this still
> illegal??   Again, it does not make sense to me if it is.
> If the consensus is that it should not be done, I'll not do it... I just
> thought it would be cool to demonstrate, and allow more participation.
> 73, Gerry W1VE.
> On Thu, Jun 6, 2013 at 8:15 AM, Steve London <n2icarrl at gmail.com> wrote:
>> On 06/05/2013 11:19 AM, Gerry Hull wrote:
>>> There was already a discussion about the new addition to rule 4:
>>> "The use of switching systems that allow for lockouts
>>> in order to use multiple transmitters (i.e., an “octopus”) in an attempt
>>> to
>>> enter a lower-number-of-transmitters
>>> class are prohibited (i.e. using 2 transmitters that can transmit
>>> simultaneously, with two operators, and a lock-out
>>> system and entering class 1A)."
>>> However, it's not clear to me:
>>> If I use something like an Acom commutator to feed two radios to a single
>>> antenna, and only one radio can transmit at a time (no simultaneous
>>> transmission), does this satisfy the rule?
>> Assuming you are claiming this is 1A or 1B for Field Day, if this isn't an
>> octopus, than what is ?
>> 73,
>> Steve, N2IC
>> ______________________________**_________________
>> CQ-Contest mailing list
>> CQ-Contest at contesting.com
>> http://lists.contesting.com/**mailman/listinfo/cq-contest<http://lists.contesting.com/mailman/listinfo/cq-contest>
> _______________________________________________
> CQ-Contest mailing list
> CQ-Contest at contesting.com
> http://lists.contesting.com/mailman/listinfo/cq-contest

More information about the CQ-Contest mailing list