[CQ-Contest] ARRL FD Rule 4 Opinion?...

Gerry Hull gerry at yccc.org
Thu Jun 6 09:22:25 EDT 2013

I'm part of a 4A,

I'm one band.

I would not intend to EVER transmit on another band.

I would not intend to transmit two signals on the same band -- in fact,
with the arrangement, it's impossible.

This would be a two-op single-band position, two ops with one either
listening to the run frequency or tuning the band for other stations.

I wanted to show this "bip-bop" two-operator single-band configuration to
people in the club I'm operating with (not all contesters).

If three other transmitters are in use at our station, is this still
illegal??   Again, it does not make sense to me if it is.

If the consensus is that it should not be done, I'll not do it... I just
thought it would be cool to demonstrate, and allow more participation.

73, Gerry W1VE.

On Thu, Jun 6, 2013 at 8:15 AM, Steve London <n2icarrl at gmail.com> wrote:

> On 06/05/2013 11:19 AM, Gerry Hull wrote:
>> There was already a discussion about the new addition to rule 4:
>> "The use of switching systems that allow for lockouts
>> in order to use multiple transmitters (i.e., an “octopus”) in an attempt
>> to
>> enter a lower-number-of-transmitters
>> class are prohibited (i.e. using 2 transmitters that can transmit
>> simultaneously, with two operators, and a lock-out
>> system and entering class 1A)."
>> However, it's not clear to me:
>> If I use something like an Acom commutator to feed two radios to a single
>> antenna, and only one radio can transmit at a time (no simultaneous
>> transmission), does this satisfy the rule?
> Assuming you are claiming this is 1A or 1B for Field Day, if this isn't an
> octopus, than what is ?
> 73,
> Steve, N2IC
> ______________________________**_________________
> CQ-Contest mailing list
> CQ-Contest at contesting.com
> http://lists.contesting.com/**mailman/listinfo/cq-contest<http://lists.contesting.com/mailman/listinfo/cq-contest>

More information about the CQ-Contest mailing list