Dino Darling dino at kx6d.com
Mon Jul 9 19:45:02 PDT 2012

Field Day allows for un-licensed operators operating under a control
operator (that's a lot of "O's"). I'd drop "appropriately licensed

For further discussion, there is a limit on the number of transmitters
(transceivers?) operating on one band-mode at a time...

"4. Entry Categories: Field Day entries are classified according to the
maximum number of simultaneously
transmitted signals...

6. Miscellaneous Rules:

6.3. Phone, CW and Digital (non-CW) modes on a band are considered as
separate bands. A station may
be worked only once per band under this rule.

6.7. The use of more than one transmitter at the same time on a single
band-mode is prohibited. Exception:
a dedicated GOTA station may operate as prescribed in Rule 4.1."

The key words here are "SIMULTANEOUSLY" and "AT THE SAME TIME". While
the rules clearly state TRANSMITTING radios in rule #4, using two radios
on a single band-mode AT THE SAME TIME (one TX and one RX) is open for
interpretation. The rules say NO. Of course, they do say "transmitter"
in 6.7. Is it only a transmitter when transmitting and a receiver when
receiving...or do they mean "transceiver"?

Again, my initial reaction was that a lock-out was not allowed. As I
read the rules, I was right; but now I'm not sure.

Dino - KX6D

-------- Original Message --------
Subject: Re: [SCCC] N6WIN 2012 ARRL FD 1E LP
From: "Marty Woll" <n6vi at socal.rr.com>
Date: Mon, July 09, 2012 12:10 pm
To: "Michael Tope" <W4EF at dellroy.com>, <sccc at contesting.com>

Thanks, Mike.

Here's the wording I'd like to see (assuming that is the actual intent
of the rules):

 "Devices that allow one operator to key multiple transmitters
simultaneously are not permitted. Each claimed transmitter in an entry
category must be manned by a separate, appropriately licensed operator."


Marty N6VI

 ----- Original Message ----- 
 From: Michael Tope 
 To: sccc at contesting.com 
 Sent: Monday, July 09, 2012 11:30 AM
 Subject: Re: [SCCC] N6WIN 2012 ARRL FD 1E LP

 I've heard through the grapevine, for example, that some serious 1A 
 entries use SO2R setups to increase rate, which is fine if allowed by 
 the rules. From what you say, Marty, it sounds like that is the case. 
 The current wording doesn't really make that very clear. In fact, it 
 seems to imply that an SO2R setup with lockout would be prohibited, so 
 it would be good to get a more concise wording.

 Thanks for chasing this down.

 73, Mike W4EF
SCCC mailing list
SCCC at contesting.com

More information about the SCCC mailing list