[Top] [All Lists]

[CQ-Contest] CQ HOF Announcement

To: cq-contest@contesting.com
Subject: [CQ-Contest] CQ HOF Announcement
From: K1AR@aol.com
Date: Tue, 20 May 2008 08:48:37 EDT
List-post: <cq-contest@contesting.com">mailto:cq-contest@contesting.com>
In case you guys didn't see this, what follows is CQ magazine's Hall of  Fame 
announcement for their entire program, including the induction of Randy,  
K5ZD and Paolo, I2UIY into the CQ Contest Hall of Fame.
73 John, K1AR

(Dayton,  OH - May 16, 2008) -- CQ magazine today announced its 2008
Hall of Fame  inductees, welcoming 14 new members into the CQ Amateur Radio
Hall of Fame,  three new members of the CQ DX Hall of Fame and two new
members of the CQ  Contest Hall of Fame.

The CQ Amateur Radio Hall of Fame honors those  individuals, whether
licensed hams or not, who have made significant  contributions to amateur
radio; and those amateurs who have made significant  contributions either to
amateur radio, to their professional careers or to  some other aspect of life
on our planet. The 2008 inductees (listed  alphabetically) are:

Gaston Bertels, ON4WF - Honorary President, former  President & CEO, UBA
(Belgian IARU society); founder & President,  AMSAT Belgium; Chairman, ARISS

L.B. Cebik, W4RNL (SK) - Noted  antenna authority, prolific author on topics
relating to antennas and antenna  modeling

Gordon England, ex-W3AWO - Deputy Secretary of Defense; former  Secretary of
the Navy; former defense industry executive

Adm. Edmund  Giambastiani, N4OC - Retired Vice Chairman, Joint Chiefs  of

Gerald Griffin, MD, K6MD - Brigadier General, Medical Corps,  US Army (Ret.)
- Led medical brigades and humanitarian missions in various  combat zones;
delegate to NATO medical advisory committee

Larnelle  Harris, WD4LZC - Multi-award-winning Gospel singer/songwriter

Lenore  Jensen, W6NAZ (SK) - Co-Founder, Young Ladies' Radio League (YLRL)

John  Kanzius, K3TUP - Inventor of possible cure for cancer using RF  energy;
process for possible use of seawater as fuel

Charles (Chip)  Margelli, K7JA - DXer and DXpeditioner; arranged the use of
Yaesu equipment  for countless DXpeditions; successfully represented hams in
Morse code vs.  text-messaging competition on "The Tonight Show with Jay
Leno" in  2005

Philip S. Rand, W1DBM (SK) - TVI pioneer; author, Television  Interference;
engineer, Remington-Rand (son of one of the founders); author,  many articles
in CQ and QST

Vice Adm. Scott Redd (Ret.), K0DQ / A92Q -  Former Director, National
Counterterrorism Center; Retired Commander, US  Fifth Fleet; active contester
and DXer

Dr. Tony Tether, K2TGE -  Director, Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency

Dr.  Hamadoun I. Touri, HB9EHT - Secretary-General,  International
Telecommunication Union (ITU)

Dr. John Townsend, W3PRB -  Space program pioneer, aerospace industry

The CQ Contest  and DX Halls of Fame honor those amateurs who not only excel
in personal  performance in these major areas of amateur radio but who also
"give back" to  the hobby in outstanding ways.

The 2008 inductees to the CQ DX Hall of  Fame are:

John Devoldere, ON4UN, who more or less single-handedly  popularized DXing on
80 meters. His book, Low Band DXing, is considered the  "bible" for DXing on
these bands, with more than 50,000 copies sold in the  20+ years in which
it's been in print. John was the first ham to earn CQ's  5-Band Worked All
Zones (5BWAZ) award, in 1979; he holds 80m DXCC certificate  #1 and currently
has 357 countries confirmed on the band.

Nellie  Saltiel de Lazard, XE1CI, a pediatrician and DXer/DXpeditioner,
Nellie has  earned just about every major DXing award and has operated from
more than a  dozen different countries, including being the first YL to
operate from  Palestine (E4).

Bob Schenck, N2OO, has made his greatest contribution to  DXing behind the
scenes as QSL manager for over 100 DX stations and more than  130 DXpeditions
and as founder of the QSL Manager's Society.

The 2008  inductees to the CQ Contest Hall of Fame are:

Paolo Cortese, I2UIY - has  too many top-10 finishes to list. Off the air,
Paolo served for more than a  decade as the HF Contest Manager for Italy's
national amateur radio  association; wrote a book on contesting, has been a
member of the CQWW  Contest Committee since 1990 and co-director of the CQ WW
RTTY DX Contest and  CQ WPX RTTY Contest since 2005.

Randy Thompson, K5ZD, has multiple wins  in the CQ World Wide DX Contest,
ARRL Sweepstakes, CQ WPX (CW and SSB), CQ  160 and the IARU HF Championship.
His station has also hosted many #1  performances by guest operators. Randy
is three-time editor of the National  Contest Journal, co-founder of the
_e-ham.net_ (http://e-ham.net/)  website. He has just been named Director of 
the CQ  WPX Contests.

Formal inductions to the CQ Contest and DX Halls of Fame  were scheduled for
the contest and DX dinners, respectively, at the Dayton  Hamvention..

**************Wondering what's for Dinner Tonight? Get new twists on family 
favorites at AOL Food.      
CQ-Contest mailing list

<Prev in Thread] Current Thread [Next in Thread>
  • [CQ-Contest] CQ HOF Announcement, K1AR <=