[CQ-Contest] SO2R question

k3ft at erols.com k3ft at erols.com
Tue Dec 3 18:08:33 EST 2002

Neophyte question based on reading recent reflector posts about the SO2R operation with 
switching headphones to listen to S&P rig while RUN rig is TX.

As I understand it, the rules say you shouold not have 2 TX simultaneously TX while in 
class for SO. When running the SO2R using the Top Ten Box (as an example) where it 
swtiches the headphones to S&P rig while RUN rig is Tx,

does it lock out the PTT from the S&P rig so you cannot TX with S&P rig until RUN rig is 
finished TX? Then if you key S&P rig does it lock out RUN rig?

My assumption, at this time, is that it does in order to keep the station legally within 
the SO category.  However, I may be wrong and it may simply rely on the operator's 
ethics and sense of equity to NOT tx on the S&P while the RUN rig is TX.

Thanks for the info. I always learn something from this place!

C U ON the 10M contest!  Let the games begin!

Chuck K3FT

More information about the CQ-Contest mailing list