[CQ-Contest] [FCG] CQ WW Rules and SCP

Tom Haavisto kamham69 at gmail.com
Mon Jun 17 21:15:45 EDT 2013

My understanding is the examples you are using are fine to correct the
log, since it is based on information *transmitted over the air*.
What is not OK is to use external data (not passed over the air during
the contest) to correct your log.

So - if you make a note during the contest (information passed over
the air), its fine as a data source.  Any other data source is not OK.

Tom - VE3CX

On Mon, Jun 17, 2013 at 4:48 PM, Richard F DiDonna NN3W
<richnn3w at verizon.net> wrote:
> I'm having a slight issue with one thing you've written Bob.  You wrote that
> it is "not OK to go back and correct this after the fact."  This seems at
> odds with what I have heard stations say for years: namely that if you make
> a change during the contest in in the minutes immediately after the contest,
> its OK.  Indeed, in WRTC, you're allowed 30 minutes to make corrections and
> to enter in any notes that you made during the contest.
> Two examples come to mind:
> in CQWW, you work HG108DX on one band but you entered the call into your log
> as HG109DX.  You work him three hours later on a different band yet your
> worked call history shows you have never worked HG108DX, but you KNOW you
> worked him.  A quick scan of partials indicates you purportedly worked
> HG109DX, but you know now this to be wrong.  My understanding is that you've
> always been able to make this correction during  the contest.
> In ARRL DX (from the W/VE side), you work GW4BLE and you enter 59 100 as his
> power.  Three hours later, you work GW4BLE and you clearly hear him say 59
> 400 which conflicts with what you think he said earlier.  A verbal
> confirmation that 59 400 is correct and has been correct leads you to change
> what you entered in the first QSO.  Again, my understanding is that you've
> always been able to make this correction during the contest.
> 73 Rich NN3W
> On 6/17/2013 1:32 PM, w5ov at w5ov.com wrote:
>> I am curious how these scenarios are being read into rules that say
>> nothing about correcting typos or using SCP?
>> "Check Partial" or "Super Check Partial" doesn't ever "log" anything. The
>> operator chooses a suggested callsign and then *HE* logs that, but it is
>> not CP or SCP doing the logging.
>> The rule is strictly on using *outside* means of analyzing and correcting
>> your log. If *you* figure out that *you* made a typo, that's not what this
>> rule is talking about - is it?
>> Even so, the rest of the pertinent section says:
>>       VIII.9 All logging must be performed in real time.
>>       VIII.10. Call signs logged must be the same as those exchanged
>>                over the air by the entrants during the QSO.
>> Q: How does that affect the above?
>> A: Let's say that you log and work K1ABZ during the contest. Later, you
>> somehow realize you should misheard his callsign and it should have been
>> K1ABC.  In this scenario, you said "K1ABZ" (Alpha Bravo Zulu) on the air
>> and logged K1ABZ. It is not OK to go back and correct this after the fact.
>> You made an error - clearly. Fixing it after the fact does not undo the
>> error - does it?
>> One thing that is quite different is that with the advent of SDR, the
>> committee can hear virtually every qso that takes place.
>> W5OV
> _______________________________________________
> CQ-Contest mailing list
> CQ-Contest at contesting.com
> http://lists.contesting.com/mailman/listinfo/cq-contest

More information about the CQ-Contest mailing list