[CQ-Contest] [FCG] CQ WW Rules and SCP

Maarten van Rossum pd2r.maarten at gmail.com
Tue Jun 18 02:11:19 EDT 2013

Who is to ever know you changed the call from HG108DX to HG109DX? They are
not going to listen to the SDR recordings unless there is something fishy
with your log. Of course, not being able to get caught doesn't make it
right but for the contest committee there is no way of telling weather you
changed you log or not just by looking at the log. But
perhaps I am overlooking something here?
Personally I don't see what is wrong with changing the 108 to 109 in your
log if you worked the guy for the second time and realise you made a
mistake with the first contact. However, the rules do say that you should
log what was exchanged over the air. That said, I don't think that rule was
intended with above example in mind.

73, Maarten PD2R

Op maandag 17 juni 2013 schreef (w5ov at w5ov.com) het volgende:

> Rich,
> Thanks for bringing this up and with the specifics you mention. These are
> some very subtle and fine points, but I think the underlying foundational
> issues are important to understand.
> In the case of you making a typo in your log, but you worked the correct
> call, making a note about fixing a typo is fine. Correcting a callsign
> that you did not work is not.
> The log should represent what happened on the air. As I mentioned, the SDR
> can and will be used to make that judgement.
> In the scenarios you cite, the corrections would be OK.  In both cases,
> further interaction with the station DURING THE CONTEST was involved and
> you made a correction based on that. Completely 100% OK.
> What's the difference?
> What I'm referring to a case where upon review of your log, you determine
> you made a mistake. HG108DX! Heck no! I know HG109DX is on. What was I
> thinking?
> What happens if you just change it?
> You would be altering your log so that it showed the correct callsign but
> you had never worked that correct callsign.
> You both worked (i.e.; sent the busted call on the air) and logged
> HG108DX. That QSO with you saying HG108DX is available on SDR and despite
> the pleadings to correct it from HG109DX (which we might hear on the SDR),
> and for whatever reason, you didn't hear his numerous attempts to get you
> to correct the call, and HG108DX was what you said and what you logged.
> This is a subtle thing, but you made a mistake and it's in the log. You
> can't just un-do it.
> Make sense?
> -Bob W5OV
> > I'm having a slight issue with one thing you've written Bob.  You wrote
> > that it is "not OK to go back and correct this after the fact."  This
> > seems at odds with what I have heard stations say for years: namely that
> > if you make a change during the contest in in the minutes immediately
> > after the contest, its OK.  Indeed, in WRTC, you're allowed 30 minutes
> > to make corrections and to enter in any notes that you made during the
> > contest.
> >
> > Two examples come to mind:
> > in CQWW, you work HG108DX on one band but you entered the call into your
> > log as HG109DX.  You work him three hours later on a different band yet
> > your worked call history shows you have never worked HG108DX, but you
> > KNOW you worked him.  A quick scan of partials indicates you purportedly
> > worked HG109DX, but you know now this to be wrong.  My understanding is
> > that you've always been able to make this correction during  the contest.
> >
> > In ARRL DX (from the W/VE side), you work GW4BLE and you enter 59 100 as
> > his power.  Three hours later, you work GW4BLE and yo2u clearly hear him
> > say 59 400 which conflicts with what you think he said earlier.  A
> > verbal confirmation that 59 400 is correct and has been correct leads
> > you to change what you entered in the first QSO.  Again, my
> > understanding is that you've always been able to make this correction
> > during the contest.
> >
> > 73 Rich NN3W
> >
> > On 6/17/2013 1:32 PM, w5ov at w5ov.com <javascript:;> wrote:
> >> I am curious how these scenarios are being read into rules that say
> >> nothing about correcting typos or using SCP?
> >>
> >> "Check Partial" or "Super Check Partial" doesn't ever "log" anything.
> >> The
> >> operator chooses a suggested callsign and then *HE* logs that, but it is
> >> not CP or SCP doing the logging.
> >>
> >> The rule is strictly on using *outside* means of analyzing and
> >> correcting
> >> your log. If *you* figure out that *you* made a typo, that's not what
> >> this
> >> rule is talking about - is it?
> >>
> >> Even so, the rest of the pertinent section says:
> >>
> >>       VIII.9 All logging must be performed in real time.
> >>
> >>       VIII.10. Call signs logged must be the same as those exchanged
> >>                over the air by the entrants during the QSO.
> >>
> >> Q: How does that affect the above?
> >>
> >> A: Let's say that you log and work K1ABZ during the contest. Later, you
> >> somehow realize you should misheard his callsign and it should have been
> >> K1ABC.  In this scenario, you said "K1ABZ" (Alpha Bravo Zulu) on the air
> >> and logged K1ABZ. It is not OK to go back and correct this after the
> >> fact.
> >> You made an error - clearly. Fixing it after the fact does not undo the
> >> error - does it?
> >>
> >> One thing that is quite different is that with the advent of SDR, the
> >> committee can hear virtually every qso that takes place.
> >>
> >>
> >>
> >> W5OV
> >>
> >>
> > _______________________________________________
> > CQ-Contest mailing list
> > CQ-Contest at contesting.com <javascript:;>
> > http://lists.contesting.com/mailman/listinfo/cq-contest
> >
> _______________________________________________
> CQ-Contest mailing list
> CQ-Contest at contesting.com <javascript:;>
> http://lists.contesting.com/mailman/listinfo/cq-contest

73, Maarten PD2R

More information about the CQ-Contest mailing list