[CQ-Contest] ARRL DX Rules

Edward Sawyer EdwardS at sbelectronics.com
Thu Feb 21 06:30:29 EST 2019

It seems like the actual issue in this case is that rules don't really address the remote operating from a club issue.  Clearly the operation is happening in Maine and not Maryland from a "contest location".  If it was operating HH2AA, clearly it's a Haiti operation.

But are the club rules also defining a remote operation as an "expedition" to the remote station or simply an extension of the operators if they are all located in Maryland.  The rules for a club don't allow an "operation out of the territory" to count if its inside the US but the do if its outside the US.

I think that club rules should just address the remote operating head on and be done with it.  Remote operation outside the club territory but inside the same country = ?.  

I agree with Dennis though that it counting for YCCC doesn't seem to be the answer in any scenario.  I think it is either "doesn't count" since it's the same as an operator outside the club territory or it sets up a new rule specific to club scores - which would have it a PVRC operation.

Ed  N1UR

-----Original Message-----
From: CQ-Contest [mailto:cq-contest-bounces at contesting.com] On Behalf Of Dennis Egan
Sent: Wednesday, February 20, 2019 12:48 PM
To: Cq-Contest
Subject: [CQ-Contest] ARRL DX Rules

I also read the N4ZR posting this morning.  It really requires more than a simple reworking of the score allocation section.

The stated multi-op took place in Maryland.  The last time I checked, Maryland was not in the YCCC territory, but I'm going to guess that all of Maryland is in PVRC territory.  Based upon that and ARRL General Contest Rules section 8.5.2, the score can't go to the YCCC under any conditions.
If the station is in PVRC territory, the score could go to PVRC.

Several years ago, I went to Nova Scotia and scored well in an ARRL DX contest.  Since Nova Scotia is outside YCCC territory, YCCC did not get credit for the score.

This doesn't mean the question is invalid (and it isn't), its just that this is a bad example.  But changing the rules to allow this operation to be credited to the YCCC can't be done just by changing one rule.

Dennis W1UE/HQ9X
CQ-Contest mailing list
CQ-Contest at contesting.com

More information about the CQ-Contest mailing list